Talk

Advanced search

people who always arrive at lunch ..... feeling I am been used

(16 Posts)
thistowillpass Fri 29-Jul-11 21:59:37

hi this is my first time but am I been a nark I have a releative who will drop off her child/ren as normally arranged but never collects them on time.
More often then not will arrive half way during ameal time after I have started to feed the kids and alway seems surprised and says 'oh I didnt have to feed them' but maybe its the irish mammy thing in me or the fact her kids are always looking for food but I am feeling used and as a lone parent who is only working pt it knocks out my budget
Am I been a bitch it maybe happens every second week but its really getting to me.

pingu2209 Fri 29-Jul-11 22:02:03

Can you delay your meal time on the day you look after the children?

tethersend Fri 29-Jul-11 22:03:20

Time to break out the Value sliced bread and fish paste.

DioneTheDiabolist Fri 29-Jul-11 22:03:47

If this is really bugging you then you are not being unreasonable. Could you tell her (next time she drops kids off) that you have something arranged that afternoon and you need her to pick her kids up on time? And continue to do this until she gets the message.

thistowillpass Fri 29-Jul-11 22:17:59

Its tricky as she would mind my kids too but I would alway collect on time and never send them with their arms swinging (with out something for lunch).
Would it be bad to feed mind and not hers ... would feel mean maybe the fish paste is the answer thanks and the going out works sometimes as just end up with extra heads

wicketkeeper Fri 29-Jul-11 22:39:22

Bread and butter 'to tide them over' is all they need - they're going to get a meal when they get home - aren't they?? That's what I would do, and I'm not a one parent family who is only working part-time. I am, however, someone who doesn't like to be taken advantage of.

ProcrastinatorGeneral Fri 29-Jul-11 22:41:30