Talk

Advanced search

or is he re gifts for teachers.

(62 Posts)
york78 Thu 21-Jul-11 17:42:15

Dh came home last night as me and the dc were wrapping gifts for their teachers. DH said what are you giving them presents for? I don't get presents in my occupation etc. I think he is being miserable. Or does he have a point?

Sandalwood Thu 21-Jul-11 17:43:11

What's his job?

MrsKravitz Thu 21-Jul-11 17:44:05

Lady in tesco said the same to me when I mentioned the voucher I bought was for a teacher

MindtheGappp Thu 21-Jul-11 17:44:55

He has a point (and I am a teacher).

But there is great joy in giving, so go ahead if that's what you want.

bubblesincoffee Thu 21-Jul-11 17:46:44

He's being miserable, but he does have a point!

It is a bit silly that so many of us feel pressured into doing gifts for teachers, but at the same time, it's a nice thing to do for the people that care for and educate our children.

Teaching is vocational as well as proffessional, and most teachers do give a bit of themselves away to their class. I genuinely want to show my appreciation for that, and my children simply enjoy going in with something nice to give their teachers.

I am spending tonight baking and wrapping cookies and the dc have just finished doing their thankyous. This is the bit that's not quite so fun!

lazylula Thu 21-Jul-11 17:47:31

I suppose he does have a point but then the same could be said about tipping waitresses or the taxi driver ect. I gave presents to show my appreciation of the work they had done with ds1, he has come on so well since starting school.

AuntiePickleBottom Thu 21-Jul-11 17:48:18

your husband does have a point, do you get gift for the bin men, postman, supermarket staff ect.

i think it is nice though to say thank-you to the teacher

soverylucky Thu 21-Jul-11 17:48:39

Message withdrawn at poster's request.

AgentZigzag Thu 21-Jul-11 17:49:12