Talk

Advanced search

To really really really want to put some sort of poltice thingy on this?

(20 Posts)
thefirstMrsDeVere Mon 18-Jul-11 17:36:19

With every fibre of my being?

OH had what looked like a cyst on his arm for ages. Suddenly gone all horrible Went to the GP and he says its an abcess and gave antibiotics.

Why do I have this craving to apply a poltice? Would it be harmful?

I wont unless its ok. I dont know why I want to. I used to be a veterinary nurse, maybe thats why. Perhaps its from watching too much Little House on the Praire when I was younger.

Anyone know about these things.

<prepared for horrified GPs and nurses etc to come and scream noooooooooooo at me>

motherinferior Mon 18-Jul-11 17:36:53

A bread poultice? (What is a bread poultice, anyway)?

SpecialFriedRice Mon 18-Jul-11 17:39:21

Well from what wikipedia tells me I think YANBU

iwanttoseethezoo Mon 18-Jul-11 17:39:57

depends what sort of poultice - and it might introduce even more infection, no? i would let the ABs do their job.

thefirstMrsDeVere Mon 18-Jul-11 17:41:53

sad really?

I thought they drew out the infection.

thefirstMrsDeVere Mon 18-Jul-11 17:42:34

I keep thinking 'bran mash'

But I dont have any.

OnEdge Mon 18-Jul-11 17:44:27

I'd just put a non adherant dressing on it if anything and leave it. Although there is always magnesium sulphate paste ????

DioneTheDiabolist Mon 18-Jul-11 17:45:29

Oooh a bread poultice. It's calling out to you as you were obviously a witch/wise woman in a previous life.

LyingWitchInTheWardrobe Mon 18-Jul-11 17:47:10

Can it do any harm? If not then try it. My mum always swears by a soap and something I've forgotten poultice. It's to bring out splinters, I think...

thefirstMrsDeVere Mon 18-Jul-11 17:48:47

soap and sugar for splinters.

thefirstMrsDeVere Mon 18-Jul-11 17:49:41

I dont want 'stuff' all over my soft furnishing though.

Bleugh.

Poor OH. It hurts him though sad

BalloonSlayer Mon 18-Jul-11 17:52:49