Talk

Advanced search

To take this dress back - possibly am

(16 Posts)
nojustificationneeded Mon 18-Jul-11 09:32:39

Message withdrawn at poster's request.

fedupofnamechanging Mon 18-Jul-11 09:35:53

If you have the receipt, then try to take it back.The worst that can happen is that they'll refuse a refund. It is possible that your DD caught it on something and that has caused the damage, in which case the shop are not liable. Even very strong material is damaged if caught on something sharp.

Possibly it was already damaged when you bought it and just didn't notice. You could always take that approach with the shop.

RMutt Mon 18-Jul-11 09:39:03

Sorry I don't think they'd accept it backsad. That sort of netting is very delicate; I avoid it on dd's clothes.

nojustificationneeded Mon 18-Jul-11 09:51:45

fedupofnamechanging Mon 18-Jul-11 09:52:55

Can you buy some more netting and replace the damaged one?

hissingsid Mon 18-Jul-11 09:57:31

I work in a shop and it entirely depends on the shop.

If you returned it to me with a receipt and said that your daughter had it on for 10 mins whilst in the same room as you sat down having her hair done when you noticed it, I would give you a full refund.

Other shops may give you credit vouchers,, other shops may give you nothing.

I think it is defiantly worth a shot at a refund.

Tangle Mon 18-Jul-11 09:59:58

A child's dress should be able to withstand being worn for more than 1.5 hrs - especially if the child is supervised (which it sounds like she was). Netting is delicate - but unless the dress came with a warning I still don't think <1.5 hrs usage is reasonable for a £40 dress.

If it were me I'd take it back and see what they say. You loose nothing apart from a bit of time and you might get a refund or credit note.