Talk

Advanced search

friend in trouble, dc 14yr won't go to school, court action been treatened

(16 Posts)
hugeleyoutnumbered Thu 14-Jul-11 13:13:43

this is more of WWYD. any I appologise in advance for that.

my friend has a 14yr dd, with a complicated history involving social services, and has put herself into care on several occassions the dd having been moved to serval different schools is point blank refusing to attend school, my friend has now been treatened with legal action, and doesn't know where to turn for help, I have no experience on the subject, and am at a loss. could you share with me your experiences, or suggest who he could contact for advice?

hugeleyoutnumbered Thu 14-Jul-11 14:01:39

am not a troll genuine need of advice

Thingumy Thu 14-Jul-11 14:05:35

I would contact the school attendance Officer and explain the situation.

I have had some experience with my own dd refusing school (and other awful behaviour) but thankfully,we never got as far as being threatened with legal action.

Is her daughter currently living at home?

What advice has social services given her?

altinkum Thu 14-Jul-11 14:06:42

Message withdrawn at poster's request.

JjandtheBeanlovesUnicorns Thu 14-Jul-11 14:07:50

I really have no idea but didn't want to leave this unanswered, I was a serial school avoider and my mum received court threats and ime that is the final straw they threaten it to ensure its not just lazy parenting iyswim we got help from my schools pastoral worker... Hth

harassedandherbug Thu 14-Jul-11 14:10:54

Is the school's educational welfare officer involved?

I had problems with ds2 attending school, but because the EWO was involved and xh were actively seen to be following her advice/recommendations then no further action was taken.

On occasion before I've even phoned up ds's head of year to say I'm trying and he won't budge, and she's jumped in her car to come and get him!