Talk

Advanced search

Please Read - Email scams

(13 Posts)
FraudFairy Wed 22-Jun-11 23:23:44

I am a MN regular (credentials I know why we have a bear and I have been to see the penguins at Birdland but sadly didn't see a lonely bloke in the carpark).

I have namechanged so I can post a bit more detail.

I am a finance professional who works in the City and have seen a fair number of email frauds, scams etc. I sometimes forget that most people may only see one or two in their life.

One of our friends has been taken in by an advanced fee fraud and lost money. See here for more info Financial Services Authority Website

If you ever get an email suggesting you can make money by helping some move money out of their country or the like no matter how many official looking and totally fake documents they produce, delete the email immediately.

When it comes to offers of money especially those by email if it lookes to good too be true it almost certainly is too good to be true.

realhousewifeofdevoncounty Wed 22-Jun-11 23:30:17

Thanks, but probably would have the common sense to never help a stranger "move" money anyway! grin

MsHighwater Wed 22-Jun-11 23:31:34

I cannot imagine being taken in by something like this. I must naturally be a cynic skeptic. Must try not to be complacent, though...

FraudFairy Wed 22-Jun-11 23:32:58

Realhousewife Glad to hear it. However, you'd be amazed how many people lose their common sense when people are promising them large sums of money.

OpusProSerenus Wed 22-Jun-11 23:34:35

I am having a phase of getting emails from Lloyds TSB telling me I am locked out of my account and please click on the link to reset my password. Guess what............. I don't have an account with Lloyds TSB!

MrsTwinks Wed 22-Jun-11 23:38:29

DH swears by http://www.419eater.com/index.php for funny crap they make them do... grin

FraudFairy Wed 22-Jun-11 23:40:31

Opus I've had a few of them. You can report them to the phishing team at