Talk

Advanced search

to be thinking 10 days is too long for my 1 year old DS to have diarrhea?

(26 Posts)
SinisterBuggyMonth Mon 13-Jun-11 13:55:51

Message withdrawn at poster's request.

Sn0wflake Mon 13-Jun-11 14:02:56

Well if he is under medical care then I don't think a chat room is going to help much more. I assume they checked if he wasn't dehydrated? Does he seem in good spirits otherwise in the day time?

If you are worried get to a GP or A&E.

MissPenteuth Mon 13-Jun-11 14:06:18

I'm not a medical professional, but I think that if he seems happy enough, is eating and drinking as normal, isn't dehydrated or losing worrying amounts of weight, then it's probably just his teeth and nothing to worry about. You have my sympathy though, my 15mo has had similar recently (for about 5 days iirc), and the nappy rash was the worst part.

Huffythetantrumslayer Mon 13-Jun-11 14:08:40

Yes get him checked if you're worried. My ds had bad diarrhoea when he was put on antibiotics and got nappy rash. Use lotion with cotton wool to clean his bum not wipes and just keep chucking water down his neck. You can get them salt rehydrating sachet things if you're worried he's dehydrated. Is he still playing happily or is he listless with no energy?

belgo Mon 13-Jun-11 14:09:42

Doesn;t sound like teething, like you say, he has eight teeth and this hasn't happened before.

Have you had any advice regarding his diet? Have you given him anything different to eat?

My dd2 had a nasty gastric infection and the diarrhoea lasted a couple of months before the bowels got back to normal.

belgo Mon 13-Jun-11 14:10:36

yes, go back to the doctor.

ceebeegeebies Mon 13-Jun-11 14:12:58

My DS1 had a tummy bug when he was 4 months old - he got over the sickness within a couple of days but the diarrohea went on for about 2 weeks. Took him back to the doctors after about 1 week and doc said it was quite common in babies for the diarrohea to continue for a couple of weeks.