Talk

Advanced search

should i or should i not?

(9 Posts)
weareallchangingnamesforthis Mon 13-Jun-11 12:12:43

this is my dilemma, i have been asked to give lessons to two adults, they want to learn a language i speak, they are willing to pay, i don't know how much to charge, but, at least £10 ph i suppose, they want to be able to have small conversations in six weeks, cos they have a commitment, i am no professional teacher, but i am not even sure that will be possible, if they pay a sustantial amount of money, they might demand results on deadline....
should i do it or just say i don't feel up to it and they should look for a proffesional? considering how close the deadline is...

worraliberty Mon 13-Jun-11 12:14:57

I'd leave it to a proffesional. The time scale sounds too small.

Pandemoniaa Mon 13-Jun-11 12:16:09

You need to find out exactly what they want to learn. The grammatical construction of this language or enough conversation to get by. Although without grammar, imho, the grasp of any language will be tenuous.

But to be honest, if you've never taught before, think carefully before deciding and make it absolutely clear what you can offer.

Flojo1979 Mon 13-Jun-11 12:16:35

I'd explain it to them, I'd say sure i can help but u must understand i'm not a professional so theres no guarantees you'll be up to scratch in time but i'll try. And see what they say.

WowOoo Mon 13-Jun-11 12:20:32

It's possible to learn very basic expressions and mini conversations in 6 weeks.

They could have you in addition to a professional. All depends how many hours work they want to put in.

Find out exactly what they want. I would do it.

reallyshouldnotwearjods Mon 13-Jun-11 12:24:08

eeeek - if its a mainstream language you could bak it up with tapes and other such teaching aids, but thats a very short timescale, especially if its Urdu or Madarin x

IloveJudgeJudy Mon 13-Jun-11 23:01:55