Talk

Advanced search

AIBU to think this is dangerous and too much to ask of staff?

(23 Posts)

Sorry this is so long but I need to rant! I work as a theatre nurse in a busy day case surgery unit. All staff in my dept have recently received a letter detailing planned changes to how "on call" shifts will work. To give a bit of background, the current system is that all theatre staff do on call shifts in addition to their normal 37.5 Hr week where they stay at home but are available to come into work to assist in operations in general theatres if the night staff are unable to cope with the volume of emergency operations. They may or may not get called out but must stay within a 30 minute journey of the hospital and must be fit to work (ie cannot drink etc). A typical on call shift runs from 9pm till 8am and on a bad night it is entirely possible to be in for the majority of that time.

As it stands at the moment, if you are called in and you are rota'd on for a shift the next day you can delay the start of your shift in order to take sleep time. The number of hours that the start of the shift is delayed by depends on what time you were in till over night. E.g. If you were called in at 9 and stayed till 2am you wouldn't be expected to come into work until the afternoon. If you were in all night you wouldn't have to come in at all. This system has worked pretty well for some years.