Talk

Advanced search

TO HIGHL ARE THEY with you?IGHT...One for the drivers. POTHOLES were said today to be still a big problem

(18 Posts)
ScousyFogarty Tue 07-Jun-11 09:56:15

POTHOLES? Not being a current driver I thought they would be all filled in by now. Whats the problem? Shortage of money or something else?

How is it on your driving route?

ScousyFogarty Tue 07-Jun-11 09:57:46

Missing word in headline is HIGHLIGHT

BornInAfrica Tue 07-Jun-11 09:58:32

<<rolls eyes and reaches for 'hide' button>>

Hassled Tue 07-Jun-11 10:00:16

Desperate. Some time ago someone came along with a pot of yellow paint and painted a circle around each pothole - I can't work out whether it was to show the Council bods where to fix or to alert the public to the holes. But one road now looks like a badly drawn series of Venn Diagrams.

Thingumy Tue 07-Jun-11 10:00:24

Maybe you could ask your local highway dept?

CogitoErgoSometimes Tue 07-Jun-11 10:01:25

But if there were no potholes, Scousy, where would you live? biscuit

GypsyMoth Tue 07-Jun-11 10:02:49

filling them in isnt 'fixing' them though.....its only a very,very temporary measure

the filled in bits crack,leaving the problem as it was,so is it fixed? no,just a bodge job

and then once the bad weather returns,they ice over....ice expands....MORE cracks= BIGGER potholes

our roads are badly designed and poorly maintained

cookcleanerchaufferetc Tue 07-Jun-11 10:02:51

When a pothole is reported to the council it is marked and should be filled.

Let's get everyone in the country to identfiy ten potholes to their council!

There are some shockers round here .... we're lucky we dont get ducks in them when it rains!

Thingumy Tue 07-Jun-11 10:06:42

They aren't essentially badly designed,they aren't 'fixed' by your local council anymore- the work is farmed out to contractors with the lowest prices.

Councils are cutting corners and instead of resurfacing where needed,they are doing patch up jobs of shit standard.