Talk

Advanced search

To think that only stupid people have no interest in politics?

(42 Posts)
sevendwarves Mon 10-Jan-11 15:03:37

It really winds me up when people say that they don't care about politics, or how dull it is.

If you pay tax, send your DC's to state schools and use the NHS how on earth can you not care about politics?

pinkstinks Mon 10-Jan-11 15:06:28

I also get annoyed when people aren't bothered about voting etc, bubt I dont think that makes them stupid. Also I am studying politics so am perhaps a bit biased blush

Ooopsadaisy Mon 10-Jan-11 15:08:03

I think it is more that people feel so disenfranchised.

I am interested in politics but feel increasingly that my views are ignored, my life is irrelevant to those in power and that there is little credibility left in British (and maybe other countries also - I wouldn't like to say) politics.

The sort of money being talked about in bonuses of the banks, the expenses business etc - it is so detached from my day to day life that it all feels like fairyland.

altinkum Mon 10-Jan-11 15:11:32

Message withdrawn at poster's request.

FindingStuffToChuckOut Mon 10-Jan-11 15:12:55

I have a high IQ & an LLB & Post Grad law qualifications - I'm not stupid, but the less I have to do with politics, the happier I am.

I wouldn't say I don't care about politics AT ALL, but it certainly can be very very dull & I understand why people shut down about it. I can be political if I need to be. As for caring about career politicians etc, I care very little about that side of it - and many of them present themselves as people of very little intelligence (though many clearly have brilliant minds). Good luck to them.

I certainly have very little interest in discussing politics with someone who has different view than I do - YAWN!!!!!! If I was invited to a dinner party where politics was main subject of conversation, I wouldn't return the invitation or rush to go there again.