Talk

Advanced search

To dislike my voluntary job?

(37 Posts)
FedUpAtCrimbo Thu 09-Dec-10 11:43:10

I'm name-changed because I don't want to be outed. If you know me, please pretend you don't!
Ok so basically I have been working voluntarily in a hospice for around 3 months whilst at college, preparing for uni.
The whole idea was to get some experience to a) confirm that care was what I wanted to do and b) get a reference from someone in a care setting and c) show uni that I have experience and deserve an interview!
So I work four hours on a saturday morning. All they could give me. My major issue is that there is barely anything for me to do. I start at 9am and am pretty busy from 9-10 but after that, there is NOTHING for me to do. All the qualifieds bugger off into the staffroom and sit eating biscuits, drinking tea and slagging off members of staff that arn't there and I'm just left standing there like an idiot. Half the time I end up clearing up after the staff when they leave their mugs and crumbs etc everywhere.
A few staff members have made it obvious that they don't like volunteers, one of them is horrible, speaks to me like shit and blanks me (like offers everyone in the room a cup of coffee and purposely doesn't ask me) and I'm just really starting to dread going.

I don't want to quit because it will look like I tried care work and didn't get on with it but its not the work, its just that environment where you're stuck looking like a spare part for 3-4 hours knowing full well that the "real" staff would prefer it if you wern't there!

AIBU?

llareggub Thu 09-Dec-10 11:45:57

It is difficult to find meaningful work for volunteers to do, unless you are lucky to find an organisation that has a good volunteer policy or someone with an interest in developing you.

Stick it out, it won't be for long!

madonnawhore Thu 09-Dec-10 11:45:59