Talk

Advanced search

to think that most DIVORCE is not always the answer?

(117 Posts)
heyhay Mon 29-Nov-10 20:54:27

I am new to MN and have found the forum to be very useful. I am a bit concerned though that it seems most women are being told to leave, divorce their partners if they misbehave? AIBU to think that this is too negative?

ConnorTraceptive Mon 29-Nov-10 20:58:26

Domestic violence isn't misbehaviour.

StayFrosty Mon 29-Nov-10 20:58:38

Message withdrawn at poster's request.

TottWriter Mon 29-Nov-10 20:58:46

Yes and no. There are times when people do appear to jump to the "leave him" conclusion rather quickly, but these are generally women who have had very bad experiences with men, so it's not unexpected. Once bitten twice shy and all that.

On the other hand, some of these women do see the warning signs early, and there have been many threads where the OP has stuck with a partner only to discover that she might have been better off leaving him when she first had problems. It does swing both ways - and I think few people would be willing to leave their partner for no reason other than an anonymous perosn on a forum advsed them to. If it makes them look at their partner and not like what they see, however, that is down to them. Most posters advise counselling before divorce anyway, when you read into it.

Please do read more threads before jumping to conclusions though. It is unreasonable to judge the many by the actions of the few.

Lulumaam Mon 29-Nov-10 20:59:08

if this is with regard to teh thread you have just posted on YABVVVVVVU

in any case, you simply cannot generalise, in RL the people I know who have divorced have done so for very pertinent reasons, having tried their best.

what do you call misbehaving? not taking out hte rubbish? pants on the floor?

or hitting your wife? beating the children?