Advertisement

loader

Talk

Advanced search

Mumsnet has not checked the qualifications of anyone posting here. If you have any medical concerns we suggest you consult your GP.

Mild allergies: is exposure or avoidance to allergen more likely to cure it?

(6 Posts)
BubblingUnder Thu 18-Sep-08 00:30:21

Or neither?

I'm lucky enough to have no allergies so i'm new to this subject and don't even know first principles.

10m old DS gets a reaction (bright red £2 coin-sized blotches with a little pimple in the middle of each) to egg and oily fish and, to a lesser extent, to tomatoes. At its worst it covers him head to toe, but it seems to vary in intensity a lot. Even though it looks very dramatic, I guess it is mild compared to some of the symptoms i have read about on MN, as he doesn't appear to be that bothered by it.

My instinct is to give him little tastes of these things every now and then to see if there is any change and to build up tolerance. -Have i completely misunderstood how these things work? (By the way, he seems to love the taste of these foods.)

Hugely greatful for any advice...

MrsPurple Thu 18-Sep-08 00:39:19

Hi I've not got any food allergies just the general Animals etc, and from my experience no amount of me being near a cat improves my allergy just makes me really ill.

Hope this helps

williamsmummy Thu 18-Sep-08 09:44:46

If based on sure knowledge that your child has food intolerance, then feel free go ahead.
If you have a child with IGE food allergy, then any exposure can result in a more severe reaction happening. Anaphylaxis being the severe end.

Even if your child is intolerant, its worth excluding the problem foods from your childs diet because symptoms may continue , and cause other problems in your childs body.
if the gut becomes inflamed for e.g, it will be more difficult for it to absorb other foods, so leading to a greater list of problem foods.