Talk

Advanced search

Mumsnet has not checked the qualifications of anyone posting here. If you have any medical concerns we suggest you consult your GP.

Any other mum experiencing massive weight loss on allergy diet + BFing?

(16 Posts)
eskimomama Wed 19-Oct-11 10:01:55

Hello dear all

I have posted on this a year ago or more and I still haven't gained any weight.
Here is the story - I've been BFing my DD for 2 years now, and been on a dairy/egg free diet since she was 6 months following her allergy test results.

And I've become so underweight!
I have seen a dietitian a while ago who said I should snack more often, which had little effect (no more loss but no gain either), and who said I should just wean her...
I wouldn't mind weaning her but at this stage it's so bloody hard and I'm so tired all the time that I can't manage. DH would like to help for the night but he can't take more than the weekends.... I would like to try a gentle weaning method but because I'm so underweight and exhausted it's still very hard.

I've also had a lot of worries lately on the family side and lost even more weight in the space of a few days... basically I'm 46kg.... I know it's way too low.

I am eating and snacking every time I can, I found dairy/egg free cakes and everything... but I don't understand why I keep losing weight!
Any suggestions? Thyroid issues maybe? (I'm not sweating, or any usual symptoms of hyperthyroidism though - and tiredness is caused only by lack of sleep due to DD not sleeping great!)

They say you're supposed to have an extra 500 calories a day if you're BFing, which I'm sure I get... so I'm just confused.

Any suggestions would be great.

Thank you

auntierozzi Wed 19-Oct-11 10:15:26

I'm on a high rice pudding diet, although I don't need it. You can pile on pounds with that stuff. Make plenty of delicious puddings. I make them for my kids and finish them all myself....Not recommended for me but definitely for you!

auntierozzi Wed 19-Oct-11 10:17:33