Talk

Advanced search

Mumsnet has not checked the qualifications of anyone posting here. If you have any medical concerns we suggest you consult your GP.

Possible reaction to formula

(6 Posts)
SylvesterMcMonkeyMcBean Wed 27-Jul-11 20:48:29

I'm new to this so any advice welcome.

DS has eczema and has been breast fed for 6 months. Just tried a formula bottle feed for the first time afternoon. He wasn't too keen on it and took about 50mls before getting fed up. Shortly after I noticed that he had a swollen eye and running nose. The nose cleared up very soon and the eye went down over the hour or so. I suspect an allergic reaction to the formula but this hasn't come up as a reaction to formula on any google search.
The formula was cow and gate stage 1 if that makes any difference.

Anyone had a similar reaction?

Solo Thu 28-Jul-11 01:15:37

No advice as no idea, but can I ask the reason you are introducing formula at 6 months please? I am pro bf and do think (only my opinion here) that babies with allergies/eczema etc will benefit from long term breast milk if it is possible to do so.

babybarrister Thu 28-Jul-11 07:58:41

that formula is based on cow's milk - has DC had cow's milk in any form before?

you could try dabbing a little milk on DC arm and seeing if there is a rash

ChocaMum Thu 28-Jul-11 21:37:57

Agree with BB, sounds like possible cows milk allergy? Has DS had any problems with reflux/colic/runny poos?

Lots of the baby cereals contain cows milk, have you tried them? Or yoghurts? Or any other dairy before?

If he has had bad eczema/difficult to control eczema then that can be because of cows milk protein crossing through to DS from your breast milk, this happened with my DD.