Talk

Advanced search

Mumsnet has not checked the qualifications of anyone posting here. If you have any medical concerns we suggest you consult your GP.

Gluten sensitive - advice please

(4 Posts)
poptartpoptart Thu 21-Jul-11 13:03:58

Hi, I'm new to the allergies thread as I've just only just discovered that DS's symptoms (very bloated tummy, constipation and tummy aches) could be due to gluten intollerance. DS is 6yo.

I have to do a two week trial cutting out all gluten to see if it makes a difference to his symptoms. I can handle two weeks but....

My fear is that he does turn out to be gluten intollerant - it means a scary change of lifestyle for the whole family.

Can anyone help me with meal ideas and the best branded gluten free foods to buy please?

I'm not much of a cook, but can throw together simple dishes if need be. I'd prefer to buy already gluten free foods so I don't have to worry I'm not doing it right.

Also, what about special occasions? I mean, I can't very well take special food with me wherever he goes - playdates, birthday parties, ad hoc McDonalds trips with friends. I don't want DS to feel that he is 'different' or missing out.

If he is gluten free 95 per cent of the time, would that be enough?

This is all completely new to me so any advice or support gratefully received.

freefrommum Thu 21-Jul-11 13:17:50