Talk

Advanced search

Partner's drinking

(15 Posts)
LambChopsMcGee Thu 30-Mar-17 09:26:03

I've been worrying about DP's drinking for a few years now, but it seems to have suddenly become clearer in my head. I'm not sure, though, how much of the problem is booze and how much is him. He has recently spoken to the doctor about his drinking so I suppose I should wait and see what happens. Talking to him about that though made me realise how much he drinks.

He drinks every day. Since I met him about 8 years ago I have only known of one or two days he has gone without booze, and that has left him visibly twitchy.

He sits up for hours after I go to bed and drinks about 4 cans of 5% lager, or 3 pints of ale (about 5-6%) every night. He often falls asleep on the sofa and is groggy and grumpy if I come to get him. More than once it has been very hard to wake him. Once I thought he was dead and it took two firm slaps to the face to wake him (I was panicking!).

He has about 70 units a week, I think. If he's been at the pub all evening he will still open a can of lager when he gets home, which was one of the things that I thought odd. Even if he gets home at midnight.

A while ago (over a year) after I had mentioned my concerns to him, he started hiding beers around the house. I noticed this when I picked up a gym bag and it was very heavy. I confronted him about this and he promised to stop hiding them. It happened again though and later I found hidden empty beers, including in his work bag. I made him promise that this wouldn't happen again but it did.

He gets quite nasty when he is drunk. Says things that are probably fair but quite hateful.

I don't really know what I am asking. We have a baby, 6 months old. I love her very much so feel torn when I catch myself thinking I should have left him years ago.

JonesyAndTheSalad Thu 30-Mar-17 09:36:34