Talk

Advanced search

Here are some suggested organisations that offer expert advice on adoption.

problems with/at schools?!

(15 Posts)
nanny1 Tue 27-Oct-09 15:33:41

Hello!

A little obscure perhaps, but I thought worth a shot! (and a bit long winded, but please bear with me!)

I'm in my final year of a Child Psychology degree. Having worked closely with fostered and adopted children in the past, when it came to dissertation time, I knew mine would focus around adopted children.

I've narrowed it down to looking at the adopted child within the school context. So any issues they might have in class, how these are dealt with, any other problems you've encountered, what allowances the school may have made to help the child (For example I worked with one family, who's adopted daughter was refused a school place having attended the attached nursery for a year. The decision was reversed at appeal on the grounds that she needed the stability due to her adoption)...etc!

So, it would be great for me to get a few case studies going, and I was really hoping that there are some parents out there who would be happy to talk to me about your experiences! Really just a chat to find out anything notable you've encountered. Also, I was really interested to discover that it's the parent's discretion whether to inform the school if a child is adopted, so would love to find out your reasons for those type of decisions...

Obviously should you be able to help, I can sort out all the necessary confidentiality agreements etc. Just thought I could at least start here!

It would be very much appreciated if anyone would be willing to help!

jeffily Wed 28-Oct-09 09:34:59

Hi Nanny.
Might not be quite what you are looking for, but I am a primary teacher and I had an adopted child in my class for a year (year 2 going and one term of year 3). I'd be happy to help, if any use...smile

Kewcumber Wed 28-Oct-09 09:57:23