Talk

Advanced search

Here are some suggested organisations that offer expert advice on adoption.

Updated, my cousins have been taken into care.

(6 Posts)
SimpleAsABC Mon 01-Sep-08 16:26:02

Hi,

Having spoken to social services it appears that one of my cousins (the older boy, aged 7) is settling well, whilst the toddler (girl 18m) isn't settling at all.

I've spoken to my parents and partner and feel that I @ least need to find out whether or not it could be plausable for me to care for her.

The questions I now have are:

I live at home with my parents. Without assistance I would never be able to afford somewhere to live with the wee one. Would the council / social services be able to help me with this?

I'm currently studying for my degree, before the wee one went into care she had secured a nursery placement two days per week. Do you think such help would still be available if I were to care for her? For example I'd need help on the days I were at uni.

I'm not sure I'd be able to offer the behaviour support which the older child requires. Would SS split the children or do you think that they would see this as detrimental?

Does anyone have any idea what my legal rights are?

I'm sure I have more questions but those are the ones that are jumping out now.

TIA.

3andnomore Mon 01-Sep-08 19:28:28

Just bumping this up, because I don't really know!
Would think that you would get the same help as any foster parent...but no idea, really, sorry!

Only thing though...don't think it would be a good idea to split the Kids up....

mummyBop Mon 01-Sep-08 21:10:45

As a foster carer you would get considerable support - financial and practical, but the support for "kinship carers" (family) is much more limited and usually at the discretion of SWs. Not sure where you are but I believe the provision in Scotland is slightly better than England (I noticed you used "wee"?).