Talk

Advanced search

Here are some suggested organisations that offer expert advice on adoption.

People who were adopted and are tracing or have traced bio parents...

(34 Posts)
madamez Fri 27-Jun-08 01:58:18

I know this is so late at night that most of you are asleep so I won't flap if I don't get many responses till tomorrow...
I think I am about to start trying to trace. I am really scared. Really really really scared, but I am coming to the conclusion that I sort of need to do it and I won't feel quite right till I have taken at least a few steps along the way.
SO those of you who have done it or are doing it, how bad and scary will it get?

WarmFuzzy Fri 27-Jun-08 09:48:22

Hi madamez, didn't want to let this go unanswered. I have no personal experience but hear it is a very emotional journey.

I have two friends who have done it. One found his mother who didn't want to know him. That could have been utterly devastating but he also found his sister and they have become very close - family holidays every year etc.

The other found a huge, warm, dysfunctional family that welcomed her with open arms. I think while she was adopted out of the family another three or four other children stayed. Hard not to feel rejected but she is very aware that her adoption opened many doors for her in terms of education and opportunity. She remained close to both her adoptive mother and her birth mother until they died.

madamez Fri 27-Jun-08 12:43:57

THanks. I think one of the things that is actually bugging me is that I will be legally obliged to have counselling, and I resent that because I do not have the highest opinion of counselling in general and somehow think it will be just my luck to get a rubbish one.

readyfornum2 Fri 27-Jun-08 16:43:21

Hi Madamez I recently traced my Birth mother and we have been having regular contact for about 3-4 months now (mainly text messages)
I am really glad I did it but havent plucked up the courage to tell my adoptive parents yet!!