Talk

Advanced search

Here are some suggested organisations that offer expert advice on adoption.

bio father wanting contact

(6 Posts)
wink1970 Mon 10-Apr-17 14:46:29

I'm new to this thread prompted by new events in our lives last week; I could do with some guidance.

My step-daughter was reared by DH as his own from 9 months old (though he never adopted her). The bio father (sorry, don't know if that's the right term) disappeared sharpish and never made contact. my DH and his ex parted when step-daughter was 16, fairly amicably, he continued to love & support her exactly the same way. I entered their lives when she was 17 and she's now in her 30s. We're all very close.

There is a major family event coming up (her wedding). Suddenly Bio-Dad turns up out of the blue on Facebook asking to see her. She says it's coincidence but I don't think it is. DH is feeling very upset and rejected.

What's your advice? I think she's playing with fire and all will get very hurt.

Avioleta Mon 10-Apr-17 14:52:00

Am I right in that your step daughter is in her 30s? If so, she is no longer a child and has the right to pursue a relationship with her bio dad if she chooses. She may just want answers, she may be curious about him. She may well get hurt. But as an adult she has to weigh that up for herself.

In no way should it be read as a rejection of your DH and his place in her life. I would be supportive if I were you. This is about her and a piece of her history. It's not about how much she loves your DH.

wink1970 Mon 10-Apr-17 14:56:32

hi Avioleta

yes she is, and I get that she might feel this way, I just think the timing sucks massively - it's something he knew might happen, but it appears she prompted it 2 months before the wedding he's planned and saved for. (neither of believe it's coincidence).

he is feeling very rejected, I don't know how to help.

luckylucky24 Mon 10-Apr-17 16:02:52