Talk

Advanced search

Here are some suggested organisations that offer expert advice on adoption.

Sibling group adoption

(5 Posts)
Sammy123456789 Wed 09-Nov-16 20:19:33

Hello everyone,
I'm new to this web page and have found reading the questions and answers on here very helpful and supportive. My husband and I are in the last part of stage 2 and we're just about to review our PAR. The second stage has been smooth and all the sessions were really positive and we had no further issues. So we were really surprised to receive as email from our SE this morning saying that after the manager had read the PAR she wants more exploration of our family set up, a second option my another SW and evidence that we can take on a sibling group? If anyone has any advice that would be really great as I'm in a bit of state. Yesterday we were going to panel 14 December and today I don't know what's going on 😞
Thanks for reading my post xx

UnderTheNameOfSanders Wed 09-Nov-16 21:11:35

A second opinion visit is standard (or was when we adopted quite a few years ago now).

The manager wants some things to be checked before going to panel. She presumably thinks that some areas of your PAR are weak. This might be because it is poorly written, or because your SW hasn't explored things properly, or because they are actually weak.

Either way the manager rightly wants things to be as solid as they can be before submitting things to panel, as if panel spot a weakness then you will be deferred. So better to make a strong case upfront.

So family set up - I'm guessing maybe it is unusual fro some reason? In which case it needs to be clear to panel (and placing SWs) that adoption will work for the setup. No point getting through panel if no one will place with you.

Evidence for sibling group. Again you need to show you have considered implications, that your support network is strong enough etc. The manager may have some concerns that the PAR is not showing you to be robust enough.