Talk

Advanced search

Here are some suggested organisations that offer expert advice on adoption.

Writing a letter to my bio mother

(23 Posts)
SolidGoldBrass Fri 05-Jun-15 19:22:15

Anyone else done this? Some tips would be appreciated.
I am 50 years old, was adopted as a newborn. I have, over the past month or so, requested and got access to my records. I now have a possible address for my bio mother and (the social worker dealing with things has agreed that this is probably the way to go) I want to write her a very careful letter to find out if she would like to meet up.
So just that really - despite the fact that I am a professional writer I don't know what to put...

mintysmum Fri 05-Jun-15 23:00:59

I have done this type of first contact for my BM 25 yrs ago and my BF last year. I didn't accept help from the social workers so plunged in with phone contact - not recommended - but I did then follow up with a letter to BM after the first phonecall.

I told her a bit about my childhood, my parents, sibling, interests and that despite being very happy and settled had always wondered about her and the 'circumstances around my birth' I think that was the phrasing. Suitably vague.
I would aim to tell her reassuring things as for all you know she may have spent 50 years worrying about you.
My BF had done just that as he works with young adults with mental health problems and said he spent so much time worrying that the home I was placed in might have been abusive.
I would be quite brief about your life now as you can see this is a first step on what might turn out to be a very long, gradual getting to know each other phase. No need to rush but lots of reasons to take things slowly.
I did not take things slowly with either BM or BF and phoned them both the day I actually found them, so out of the blue for them, but it was right for me and as it turned out they coped pretty well with the immediacy.

How are you feeling about it all?

golemmings Fri 05-Jun-15 23:17:07