Talk

Advanced search

Get into teaching from long term postdoc

(4 Posts)
DragonOnFire Sun 24-Nov-19 21:40:59

I've been post-docing for almost 10 years now, bar an 18-month stint in industry as a medical writer.
Brief history of me- wanted to be a vet (got all the Science A-levels grade A), studied a biology subject where my nutrition lecturers encouraged me to apply the a PhD with them. Had great supervision but didn't always enjoy PhD. Was coming out of PhD at the start of economic crash and was pleased to get any job. Somehow got a dream postdoc position funded for 5 years in a completely new subject area, they decided to hire me made based on my lab skills. I really excelled in this position, the research area was fascinating, I enjoyed academia and wanted to stay. However, had the classic nightmare PI (no management skills and had never had a postdoc before, and none of his past PhDs were working with him- in hind sight these were red flags!) but he was a prolific publisher so I was lucky to get loads of research published. So after 5 years I made the leap to industry as a medical writer. HATED the people in industry, it was a snake pit full of people looking to better themselves at the cost of others. Learned loads in terms of understanding pharma and am a much better writer. Key skill here was learning to deliver a project in a subject you are not 100% familiar with to a professional level to a tight deadline.
Have since gone back to academia and am now working in an area vaguely related to my first postdoc, but have barely published (working towards one mega paper) but I have spent this position upping my teaching repertoire (this was experience lacking from past positions).
I've now got 12 months left on my current contract, have had the future plans talk with my current PI. He was very realistic and says he can't guarantee that I'll get another position on a grant, even though we will look to apply. He also suggested