Advertisement

loader

Talk

Advanced search

The guilt--advice? Do I keep going? Do I just get out?

(8 Posts)
Placebogirl Mon 23-Oct-17 05:02:09

I'm approaching 40. I have about a year to go to finish my PhD, and I hold a teaching position while I'm doing it. That teaching position is nominally two days a week, but you know how that story goes! I have been working professionally in my field for >10 years, and I keep seeing jobs advertised that would give me (probably) less intellectual stimulation, but (definitely) more money than I could make for at least two years post PhD. I have two small children, 5 and nearly 2. I am the career oriented one in my partnership, and the one who will be primary breadwinner.

The challenge I have is this: I WANT to be an academic. There is a good chance I will land a job. I feel SO guilty though, about the money (in terms of lost potential earnings) and time in vested in this venture. What the heck do I do?

Summerswallow Mon 23-Oct-17 16:26:10

Presumably you all agreed to this course of action a few years ago when you started the PhD. So what's changed? Why did it seem like a good plan then and not now? I think you need to go back to why you wanted to do this and it made sense before, and remind yourself of that goal. You can lose focus just before the final year very easily.

berryupset Tue 24-Oct-17 10:48:37

It's a hard slog towards the end.

At the end of my PhD I also saw lots of jobs advertised in my previous career, and constantly thought I should take those. I even applied to one or two (half-heartedly though, I must admit). I was in a slightly different situation as I had my first child just after I finished my PhD. My partner was in a corporate job which he has never really enjoyed which kept us financially afloat for quite a few years. I felt guilty about that.