Talk

Advanced search

How to publish articles from a thesis for a complete novice

(4 Posts)
allegretto Fri 26-May-17 10:03:07

I recently finished and was awarded my PhD in Modern Languages. I would now like to use it to publish some articles in journals but really don't know where to start. I know this is a skill I should have already acquired, but for various reasons (distance learning student, two babies while studying, imposter syndrome blah, blah) I never got round to it. Could anyone give me any pointers (websites, advice?) on what I should be doing?

Here are a few questions I have_
- do I approach a journal with a completed article or with an idea?
- can an article only be sent to one journal at a time?
- my examiner suggested rewriting the thesis as a book rather than as articles. Is this better? Does it have to be one or the other? (I am not sure I could face it at the moment but if I leave it the data will all be out of date).
- I work in a university in a non -research role (so not even sure this is going to be of any use to me in the future but don't want to lose out just in case!) Should I include the name of the university where I work now, or where I did the PhD.

Thanks for any insights!

LRDtheFeministDragon Fri 26-May-17 10:37:50

I'm in English/History, but I'm pretty sure some of these are the same anywhere.

1) Completed article. Each journal will have info for how it wants its submissions, tucked away on the website - most will want an abstract; most will specify the conventions for references; some will give an indication of the length. The journal will also have a blurb about what it sees as its own specific area, so tailor your article to that blurb so it's clear how it fits in.

2) Yes, always one journal at a time. Many journals ask you to confirm on submission that the piece isn't under consideration elsewhere.