Talk

Advanced search

Single Mum Studying a Masters

(6 Posts)
Fairy2015 Fri 12-May-17 20:34:45

I have been accepted onto a Masters which is a total of 20 hours a week, with one full day at uni a week.

I am worrying about my capability/work load, the degree is exactly what I want to do (MSc Counselling Children & Young People), however I fear I will struggle as I am a single mum to a 3 year old too.

Has anyone else studied a postgrad whilst being a full time mum!?

tatohead Fri 12-May-17 21:07:37

Do you mean stay at home mum? (Full time is a little offensive to us 'part time' mums)

How many hours of childcare will you have? Does your 3 year old go to bed easily? I ask this because my biggest working time used to be evenings but I now spend hours every night just getting my dd to sleep and keeping her asleep so have no time for work anymore

ProfessorPickles Fri 12-May-17 21:14:14

I'm currently studying (BA) and I get the majority of childcare paid for my 3yo son to go to nursery. Have you looked into this? You'll get 15 hours free from the government but then if you need extra days student finance do childcare grants and I assume they'll cover masters courses.

I put him in a private nursery so I can condense his hours over two days (my mum has him one day too) because if he had 5 mornings sessions a week, I'd literally have to turn around and go home the second I got to uni to pick him up.

Would putting your 3yo in nursery for long days be an option?
If you aren't working then I'd say it's definitely possible OP!

I can't wait to do my masters!

explodingkittens Fri 12-May-17 22:12:14

Yes, I did. I also worked 30 hours a week in the NHS (including night shifts and on-call duty) while I studied for my MSc on my days off. Ds was 6 when I started so he was at least at school some days.

It was tough but I just had to be very organised, and got used to working in the evenings! You can do it.

bluefootedpenguin Sat 03-Jun-17 22:31:29