Advertisement

loader

Talk

Advanced search

To leave PhD during maternity leave - advice?

(11 Posts)
user1486768000 Sun 09-Apr-17 07:43:40

Just looking for some general advice on the situation.

So I'm currently on mat. leave from my PhD at a Russell group university (DS is 2 months old) having only done 3 months of my PhD prior to that. I feel like I kind of 'fell' into my PhD in many respects, the position is in the same lab where I did my masters thesis and although I am very much into the science, I now know that lab work isn't for me, I'm mostly just putting up with it and already thinking about what to do after as I don't want to go into academia and get postdocs etc...

So here's the thing, I'm thinking of applying to a job I've seen which really excites me, which is very much hands-off science and obviously comes with much better pay than the PhD stipend gives. It is also in the city where I did my undergrad and where I have always dreamed of moving back to. I'm thinking of applying to it regardless as otherwise I feel it would be a wasted opportunity. I will have to pay back my maternity leave pay if I do leave and will probably have to tell my supervisor soon as I'm going to need references etc... There's also the issue of childcare, as the job would be full time 9-5, with the PhD I was thinking of doing flexible hours (evenings, weekends) to minimise the need the childcare.

Really just wondered if anyone has been through something similar, especially in regards to leaving the PhD. I realise this is a pretty unique situation.

BrrrrrrWentTheAlarmClock Sun 09-Apr-17 08:21:31

I left a PhD after the first year. It was making me miserable. I kind of fell into it too, and probably took it as if was at a prestigious uni. Even though I enjoyed the subject and bits of the work, it wasn't enough to overcome the isolation I felt and loneliness living there. I felt I lacked purpose.