Talk

Advanced search

ex-academic, going back to MA in new subject - mad?

(8 Posts)
Doraemon Thu 11-Feb-16 19:46:28

I don't want to out myself so this may be a little sketchy..... I have a PhD and pre-children lectured at a fairly prestigious college. After children for various personal reasons I resigned and we moved to the other end of the country. I was a SAHM for quite a while, then have worked in various roles related to parenting/early years/education and taken an undergrad foundation degree. I am now in a school based role which I enjoy but with limited opportunity to progress. I miss using my brain in an academic way. As a family I don't think we could cope with me as a full time school teacher. DC are 10, 8, 3 and eldest has ASD, DH works long hours and has to travel.
I keep looking at a part-time taught MA course, related to my current work but only tangentially to my previous academic discipline (which I would never get back into, student numbers are in decline, jobs like hen's teeth and my publications record has a decade long gap). Would I be crazy to go back to study and try this MA with a view to eventually moving on to (another) PhD and possibly lecturing again? I am 40 - I don't want to be just doing what I'm doing now for another twenty years, whereas I think I could quite happily do it alongside academic research/teaching. Money is not a huge issue as although I am currently earning a pittance the mortgage is nearly paid off, and we could afford the part-time MA fees.
Any thoughts please?

googlepoodle Fri 12-Feb-16 06:54:54

I wouldn't. Academia is not family friendly at all and while you might be ok with a part time degree, there is then a big difference when you move to employment. You will need to work way more than your contracted hours and this looks like it would be difficult in your situation.

ScottishProf Fri 12-Feb-16 07:06:26