Subclinical Hyperthyroid

(8 Posts)
IfOnlyOurEyesSawSouls Wed 24-Nov-21 23:19:40

Hello

Are there any health care professionals around?

Or people with similar experience?

I have for a while felt really off colour , very fatigued, really struggling to concentrate, panicky , anxious , agitated and sweaty , warm / clammy , out of breath ...

My GP took my bloods and my TSH is 0.02 - my T3 and T4 are within range.

GP is following guidance and wants to recheck them in 2 months, but i just feel so very awful i can't imagine feeling like this another 2 months.

Am I imagining the impact that it could be having on me ?

I would be so grateful for support.

OP’s posts: |
IfOnlyOurEyesSawSouls Thu 25-Nov-21 13:35:42

Bump

minipie Thu 25-Nov-21 13:44:18

Hi, I’m not a healthcare professional but we have overactive thyroid in the family (not me mine is underactive).

It definitely does affect how you feel, anxiety and racing heart for example.

If you want things to move quicker you could ask for repeat tests sooner and/or you might be able to be prescribed something in the meantime to help you feel better eg beta blockers. Not sure whether these would mess with the repeat blood tests though.

I would also be asking to get a referral to an endocrinologist

IfOnlyOurEyesSawSouls Thu 25-Nov-21 16:02:27

Thankyou @minipie thats kind.

IfOnlyOurEyesSawSouls Thu 25-Nov-21 22:55:51

Bump

freshflowers2 Thu 25-Nov-21 23:12:48

It's pretty well known that NHS guidance for acceptable thyroid hormone levels is way broader than the levels at which most people will feel ok.

We have a tendency to hyperthyroidism in my family too (Graves' disease) and I can certainly identify with the symptoms you describe.