Supernanny, if you're there and listening...

(8 Posts)
sortmylifeoutplease Mon 11-Jan-21 19:54:42

Please can you help us? We are a family of five. Partner started new job last week. I'm a contractor finishing mat leave (should have finished a couple of months ago, but childcare extra scarce right now). I was meant to start part time role last week and do settle sessions with baby at nursery. I've had to pass work to someone else due to homeschooling. Extra pinch on finances painful, but manageable.

So...how do I be the least shit mum I can? YR - zoom calls and work, Y1 child has 4 pre-recorded videos a day about 15-40 mins each, plus worksheets or assignments for all of these and associated printing, uploading, slow server etc. We have two rooms downstairs - one of which is off kitchen. How can I be less of a shit mum to the baby especially, try to help young kids with schooling and get out of house at some point? Dining table can fit two laptops on at a time - one is for partner. If I put baby down she's trying to pull at laptops or take papers off other low kids table. Oh, and ideally YR needs an adult with him on zoom calls and they can't be held in a bedroom.

OP’s posts: |
KindergartenKop Mon 11-Jan-21 21:19:52

Here are your priorities:
1) Baby's safety
2) DH's work
3) Reading with both older children
4) DC1's schooling
5) DC2's schooling

Can you get a cheap exam desk or two and stick DH in a bedroom to work and a DC in living room. Like this: www.ebay.co.uk/sch/i.html?_nkw=exam+desk&_trksid=p2380057.m4084.l1311&_sacat=0

sortmylifeoutplease Mon 11-Jan-21 21:36:53