Talk

Advanced search

Books like Roald Dahl for a five year old?

(13 Posts)
NaughtipussMaximus Tue 17-Nov-20 08:51:22

We've been reading DS (5) Roald Dahl's novels for the last few months and we're nearing the end of them. Can anyone suggest something similar and similarly age appropriate, please? He's not at the stage of reading books of that level himself yet, and before we started on Roald Dahl, we were reading things like The Gruffalo at bedtime, so these are the first chapter books he's been exposed to. Is five old enough for Harry Potter?! I tried him on a Dick King-Smith but he wasn't very engaged - he's not very interested in talking animals. When I was his age and older, I was all about the talking animals (Colin Dann, Michael Morpugo, Richard Adams, Brian Jacques, that sort of thing) and I can't really think of anything more in the Roald Dahl mold.

OP’s posts: |
GeraldgeeGum Tue 17-Nov-20 08:53:14

David Walliams children's books may be a good thing to try, they're similar 😁

NaughtipussMaximus Tue 17-Nov-20 09:20:36

Thanks @GeraldgeeGum! I'll give those a go.

OP’s posts: |
BogRollBOGOF Tue 17-Nov-20 09:24:47

At the silly end of the market, there's Captain Underpants. Tra la la!

Augustbreeze Tue 17-Nov-20 09:33:42

Mr Gum books, one which is a pigs diary, although can't remember exactly what it's called - hilarious!

Augustbreeze Tue 17-Nov-20 09:35:07

No not old enough for a whole Harry Potter.

Augustbreeze Tue 17-Nov-20 09:35:50

As in, selected HP extracts OK, whole story arc, even just of first book, not OK.

alwaysonadiet1 Tue 17-Nov-20 13:14:17

Have a look at the Mr Majeika series

HardAsSnails Tue 17-Nov-20 13:22:20

Ds loved the Judy Blume 'Superfudge' series.

MobLife Tue 17-Nov-20 13:33:23

My son absolutely loves the Mr Gum books-the audio books which are narrated by the author are particularly hilarious

ShakeaHettyFeather Tue 17-Nov-20 13:35:27

The Bolds series - excellent surreal humour and jokes to read which are perfect for beginning readers.

Fabuleuse Tue 17-Nov-20 13:35:50

My son really liked a series of books about mr penguin, a penguin detective. I think the author is Alex t Smith.

Aroundtheworldin80moves Tue 17-Nov-20 13:36:16

My go to recommendation for this age group is the Adventures of Mr Penguin. The main character is a penguin, but most of the characters are people. In the first one he's trying to find treasure hidden in a museum for example.

Join the discussion

To comment on this thread you need to create a Mumsnet account.

Join Mumsnet

Already have a Mumsnet account? Log in