Talk

Advanced search

Which cadet force?

(13 Posts)
Farcry66 Fri 24-Jul-20 21:17:11

Hi,
My son wants to join cadets but he has no idea which one! We have all three on our doorstep. He originally wanted sea cadets but he has got bored with sailing now so I think he might prefer the others. I'm swaying slightly towards army cadets as he loves air rifle shooting and I suspect they might do more of that there.

My background is in girl guiding so I'm totally out of my depth here! Do any of you have children in any of the cadet forces? What kind of activities do they do? What is the general ethos like with regards bullying and the like? He goes to school out of the area and so won't know anyone at all and he is not that confident at making new friends.

The units encourage prospective cadets to come along and have a look, which we will do, but obviously they are not running at the moment due to covid.

OP’s posts: |
Glendaruel Fri 24-Jul-20 21:27:40

I was cadet instructor. They learn to march, field craft, how to handle and fire cadet rifle safely, how to look after themselves and their kit map and compass, pt, outdoor pursuits, team and leadership skills. They go away at weekends when they get to put those lessons into practice and also summer camp for fortnight.some do their d of e. I loved my unit, teenagers from different backgrounds but came together as a team.

Witchend Fri 24-Jul-20 21:29:58

How old?

I think they have different ages they start:
Army age 6yo
Sea cadets 10yo
RAF 13yo.

Don't take that as gospel, it's what I remember when ds was looking at it.
I've got plenty of friends whose dc do it. They all love it, and do lots of camps and other activities. It's a very cheap extra curricular!

Farcry66 Fri 24-Jul-20 21:33:50

He turned 12 in May, according to the websites Army and Air take them from when they enter Year 8, sea cadets have a junior cadet force that starts at 10 I think.

OP’s posts: |
Liverpool52 Fri 24-Jul-20 21:39:50