Talk

Advanced search

Someone I like and respect at work really hurt me at the Christmas party

(46 Posts)
BubblesTheOfficeWorker Sun 15-Dec-19 19:01:35

And to make it worse, they weren't meaning to do that, but I can't help but feel hurt about it anyway.

I've been working in the same place for 9 years and it is very tight knit. I'm 30 and I've never had a boyfriend. It does quite upset me and this time of year (plus the stupid 'thirtieth' thing) has been really hard.

An older woman I really look up to and respect kept bloody well going on about it and by god it hurt sad

Longtalljosie Sun 15-Dec-19 19:03:05

Was she pissed? flowers for you. It’s a horrid time of year to be long-term single. Bloody Mariah Carey...

FREEM Sun 15-Dec-19 19:03:15

ah doesn't sound good.
can you speak to her and explain how it made you feel and maybe chat .

itwasalovelydreamwhileitlasted Sun 15-Dec-19 19:03:32

So how did they "hurt" you??

BubblesTheOfficeWorker Sun 15-Dec-19 19:05:53

Tipsy at most. I think I'm going to try and let it blow over because I hate drawing attention to myself.

Breastfeedingworries Sun 15-Dec-19 19:06:52

It’s a rough time of year to be single 😢 I’m in the same boat flowers

Ullupullu Sun 15-Dec-19 19:09:16

Why does she / anyone at work know about your private life that much? Rise above it and act like it doesn't bother you.

Emeraldshamrock Sun 15-Dec-19 19:12:08

She is a dick. There is more to life than being in a relationship.
Does she know it is a sore point for you? Was she pissed? She's probably mortified today, I expect she'll apologise.
Close knit companies and Christmas parties sting, I skipped mine, I don't give a shite if anyone talked about me.
The usual if you're not there your ears may burn.

AnFiadhRuaRua Sun 15-Dec-19 19:12:29

Yes sounds like she tried to tell you what you already know, as though that will help you.