Talk

Advanced search

Potty training!!!

(63 Posts)
Fruityb Wed 07-Aug-19 11:24:53

So I'm off for summer with my son (I'm a teacher) and we've been on holiday and now it's me and him for the next four weeks, save weekends. I have thought about trying to potty train while I'm off and thought now would be a good time. We bought pants, we keep talking about using the toilet or potty and saying it's time to be a big boy. My son is three in two weeks.

Up until now though he's shown no interest at all in going to the toilet. He says "I don't want to" quite strongly when potty is suggested and if you ask him he can get quite upset. I don't want to push the issue and upset him or make this a battle so haven't. My husband however is always on about it and saying he'll be in nappies forever if we don't do something about it yadda yadda. I'm pretty sure that in the next year he'll crack it before he starts school....

I made a thing this morning about not putting a nappy on and he chose his pants. And then promptly peed them. No fuss, clean up and left his pants off. Thought I'd try and leave him wild and free! He has so far peed three times on the carpet and once on the sofa. He has peed a lot and I read on the NHS site that if wees aren't an hour apart then it will likely not work. These wees all happened in about two hours. He has sat on the potty after he has done one and I've clapped and cheered, sitting on it is progress as he would not at all before, but obviously it's too late then. After spending four hours cleaning up piss and having a child who kept asking for a nappy and then refusing to put his clothes on I have just stuck a pull up on him and he's loads happier. I keep asking if he wants a wee and to tell me if he does.