Talk

Advanced search

I can't cope with being a mum

(6 Posts)
p0mbear Fri 19-Jul-19 17:14:50

Feeling so ashamed and like the worst parent in the world to be honest but I just want to know how normal this is. I suffer with depression and am on antidepressants for this, which have just been increased, so I find it hard to know what’s normal and what is. I know that every parent needs a break from their kids and finds their kids hard work but I feel like this might be different.

I absolutely adore my DD who is 4. She is generally quite a good girl as far as kids go apart from little things which I’m sure all kids do. I’m a single parent, I work full time as a nurse and we live alone. Ever since I started with depression I try and get out for a long dog walk on my own each day as it really helps clear my head. I either do this while she’s at preschool or ask my mum to watch her for an hour.

Basically, When I’m around her I just feel so incredibly low. I love her to pieces I really do, but I literally live for the 2 days every 2 weeks that she spends with her dad and the time when she is at preschool and I’m off. I actually miss her when she’s not around, but then the minute she is I feel down again. I've no friends or close family with children so I have no one to spend time with with her.

I’ve tried, tried, and tried to get her dad to have her more, for her sake more so than mine as she misses him. But he runs a pub so he thinks that comes before everything and will not commit to ANY extra time.

I can’t cope and it’s breaking my heart. I’m starting to even feel angry when I’m around her and it’s making me short and snappy with her which really isn’t fair. When I am with her, I can’t cope with her alone so I have to go round to my parents and just sit there. I am honestly dreading these school holidays. I don’t know how I’m going to cope. I honestly feel like I can’t be a good mum to her and she would be better off if I just left.

NoSauce Fri 19-Jul-19 17:27:54