Talk

Advanced search

How old do you want to live to...

(98 Posts)
Fastloveinyoureyes Wed 17-Jul-19 23:55:16

Disclaimer: I work in a hospital setting which sees an awful lot of elderly people. Before I started working there I would've said 'as long as possible'

Two years down the line...not so much.

I'm sure we all know someone who's 101 and living a fabulous life, but for the majority, 85 and upwards is no bloody fun at all. A slow descent into falling apart, increasing hospital admissions, more and more meds, falls, dementia and then death in some hospital bed because you fell over and hit your head and nobody noticed you were more confused than normal.

I'm going for 75-80. After that I think i'd be happy to shuffle off this mortal coil

EbbandTheWanderingHearts Fri 19-Jul-19 21:17:51

Another care worker here. Seeing what some people go through in old age and having no words of comfort to those crying on my shoulder that they just want to die, I think I'd be on the first plane to Switzerland in a lot of scenarios. I also care for lots of people who are living life to the full so am fully aware that old age isn't all doom and gloom.

Not sure what age I'd like to go. My Grandmother was 8 wks off her 100th birthday when she died ( cancer ) and my Great Grandmother was nearly 105. She emigrated to New Zealand aged 99!

BiteyShark Fri 19-Jul-19 19:28:54

* Why is everyone wanting to go early?*

It's not about going early it's about not spending years being in pain and having no independence.

Not many people live the dream life where they are happy and healthy and then die instantly. A lot of people deteriorate and spend the last years existing rather than living.

Poetryinaction Fri 19-Jul-19 00:11:15

I want a few years after my dh, to myself! And I don't want to live in a failing body or mind. I hope I die happy.

madcatladyforever Thu 18-Jul-19 22:43:36