Talk

Advanced search

Threads in this topic are removed 90 days after the thread was started.

I am a civil engineer

(23 Posts)
Poorlooloo Fri 22-Jun-18 02:06:45

any questions?

Apologies for being so abrupt but I also have tendonitius in my wrists so typing is limited.. my company wants to know what civil engineering means to people..

Mxyzptlk Fri 22-Jun-18 02:12:26

What do civil engineers do?

Shortyboo Fri 22-Jun-18 02:20:58

What the PP said.

I have a somewhat confused idea about what civil engineering is.

In a sentance, what does s civil engineer do?

Poorlooloo Fri 22-Jun-18 02:25:19

We design and construct all the infrastructure around you, so roads, rail, sewage, airports..

Some of us plan the works, some design it, some manage the construction foot.

Poorlooloo Fri 22-Jun-18 02:26:51

Not foot, of it!

PerspicaciaTick Fri 22-Jun-18 02:31:21

I come from generations of civil engineers. So mostly it is just what people do when they go to work. It does always seem to be a stressful industry to work in.

Poorlooloo Fri 22-Jun-18 02:36:31

Stressful... yes, bu no more than any other professional from my experience. What did your relatives work in to be stressed?

MountainGoats Fri 22-Jun-18 02:39:10

Which role do you do within civil engineering? Do you enjoy it? Do you come across men believing you aren't technical enough for their queries?

MountainGoats Fri 22-Jun-18 02:40:59

Can I change men to people. Thinking about it both sexes seem surprised when I can answer technical questions (I work in a form of engineering)

BouleBaker Fri 22-Jun-18 02:46:30

What comes first, design need or budget? And how much does lack of budget mean you can’t design what’s actually fit for purpose?

PerspicaciaTick Fri 22-Jun-18 02:46:41