Talk

Advanced search

Threads in this topic are removed 90 days after the thread was started.

My horsefly bite is so swollen my skin has started to bubble up

(26 Posts)
MsAdorabelleDearheartVonLipwig Thu 21-Jun-18 23:24:14

It’s rock solid to the touch, hot and red and now it’s started to bubble up. I’ve popped a couple and it’s just clear so I don’t think it’s infected. Does that sound normal? Like it’s just so swollen it’s forcing liquid out?

All the shiny bobbley bits are where it’s bubbled.

dottycat123 Thu 21-Jun-18 23:32:17

I had exactly the same a couple of weeks ago after a bite.My leg was hard, red and fluid leaked out. The itching was mind blowing. I thought it was getting infected but it didn't progress to anything. I am a nurse so confident to just wait and see what happened. The swelling lasted a week as did the itching. I think I Will have a permanent scar. A cold compress seemed to give more relief than hydrocortisone cream.

CatONineTails Thu 21-Jun-18 23:34:21

Normal for horsefly bites! Mine always do this.

Don't pop the blisters though!

MsAdorabelleDearheartVonLipwig Thu 21-Jun-18 23:34:54

Thanks dotty, that’s reassuring. Never really been bothered by them before. My DSil mutters things like cellulitis if you mention bites and I got scared. grin

MsAdorabelleDearheartVonLipwig Thu 21-Jun-18 23:35:09

Ooh, why not?

Stompythedinosaur Thu 21-Jun-18 23:36:40

Oral antihistamines will help with the itching.

Popping blisters increases the risk of infection.

MsAdorabelleDearheartVonLipwig Thu 21-Jun-18 23:37:26

Oh right. That makes sense. So satisfying though. Thought it might relieve the tension.

dottycat123 Thu 21-Jun-18 23:40:21

Popping the blisters could increase the risk of infection as you are opening the skin. There is always a risk of infection but horse fly bites cause a big histamine response so will swell.

Pebblespony Thu 21-Jun-18 23:42:02