Talk

Advanced search

Threads in this topic are removed 90 days after the thread was started.

Fatal alcohol poisoning case in news

(90 Posts)
NotARegularPenguin Thu 14-Jun-18 09:48:38

Just been reading about a poor woman who died of acute alcohol poisoning on holiday and am quite shocked by how it’s apparantly possible to die from what doesn’t seem like an excessive amount of booze.

The woman’s husband said she had a few small beers, couple of small glasses of wine and a few Irish coffees over the course of a day which was estimated at 10-15 units. Her husband said she didn’t appear drunk, wasn’t unsteady on her feet. She had an alcohol count of 4grams of alcohol per litre of blood according to toxicology reports.

A bottle of wine is 10.5 units. I don’t often drink but when I do I could probably drink a bottle of wine over an evening. I mean I’d be quite drunk but I wouldn’t have thought I was in danger of dying. When I was a student I could easily have drunk 5 pints a night which is 15 units.

Scary.

kaytee87 Thu 14-Jun-18 09:50:13

Link?
Did she have any underlying conditions?

GreatDuckCookery Thu 14-Jun-18 09:52:57

The amount she drank doesn't add up to alcohol poisoning surely?

NotARegularPenguin Thu 14-Jun-18 09:53:58

www.manchestereveningnews.co.uk/news/greater-manchester-news/fuerteventura-canary-islands-manchester-holiday-14782560

I guess maybe her husband has underestimated how much she drank?

Racecardriver Thu 14-Jun-18 09:54:10

You have to remember that alcohol doesn't leave the body ommediately. She seems like a big drinker. It's likely that there was already plenty of alcohol in her system from the day before.

BarbaraOcumbungles Thu 14-Jun-18 09:56:34

Here’s must have been something else going on. I thought blood alcohol levels was measured in Milligrams. 4 grams must be a huge amount confused

NotARegularPenguin Thu 14-Jun-18 09:58:48