Talk

Advanced search

Threads in this topic are removed 90 days after the thread was started.

The thought of sex with a man makes me shudder - and I can't work out why.

(66 Posts)
duffbeergoggles Tue 12-Jun-18 20:02:02

Because I was married (twice!).
Because I see men in the street who I think 'oh he's nice looking' - until I try to imagine the sexual intimacy bit.
Because I've been single, by choice, for a long time and I would like that to change.
Because I had quite a wild time (with men) during my young adulthood.
Because there are no physical reasons that I can't, and I don't have any issues with my body being older and a bit more wrinkly in places.
And because it upsets me and even therapy hasn't really sorted this one out - besides I'm a bloody therapist myself which is why I'm here because sometimes you just need a bit of anonymity.
And so as not to drip feed, I have wondered about my sexuality but I kind of assumed that I'd just KNOW if it was that.
Anything by way of a response would be great, thank you.

kaytee87 Tue 12-Jun-18 20:07:22

Well how do you feel about sex with women? Maybe you've just completely gone off sex altogether?

LRDtheFeministDragon Tue 12-Jun-18 20:10:47

I'm not sure you would 'just know' - plenty of people don't - but there's nothing to stop you dipping a toe in those waters, and equally no reason why you should feel like sex with men. Right? I mean, it's perfectly ok to feel you don't fancy it.

duffbeergoggles Tue 12-Jun-18 20:13:13

Scared is how I feel about sex with women.
But not as scared as the prospect of going off sex completely. And not that scared that I'd be prepared to sleep with a man. FFS.

duffbeergoggles Tue 12-Jun-18 20:14:17

I feel really distressed about it.

annandale Tue 12-Jun-18 20:15:56

So something made you choose to be single; what's changed now? What do you see happening in your future non-single life?