Talk

Advanced search

Threads in this topic are removed 90 days after the thread was started.

Shit. DP's only gone and 'booked' the wedding.

(85 Posts)
Thurlow Thu 26-Apr-18 13:18:15

DP and I have been together for 18 years. We made a conscious decision a good 10 years ago that neither of us particularly wanted to be married, so we didn't. Bought a house, had DC. As I work in the legal sector we had a lot of help putting together wills and powers of attorney etc to provide some security.
In the past year I've started to get more concerned that we're still not in the best legal position. Financially things are good, we both work and I've not noticeable sacrificed my career and earnings because of having small DC. But you know, things are easier when you're married, house prices are rising so we're creeping nearer the inheritance tax threshold and all that.

So I started saying I thought we needed to get married for the legal protection. DP agreed as that was what I wanted but was slightly less keen. I kept meaning to make the appointments but life just got in the way and I kept forgetting.

And then out of the blue this morning I woke up to emails from DP on his night shift to say he'd booked the appointment to give notice and found a day we might be able to do it at the cheaper, teeny registry office.

Well fuck me. I mean it's lovely. I'm so happy and touched that he has done this for me. We want to spend our life together. But now I'm bloody panicking! Married! Not that we'd tell anyone really, we'll probably have stranger witnesses and only tell our parents for legal reasons but... Shit. This shouldn't be a big change but suddenly it feels like it!

I'm being U and silly, aren't I? Or did anyone else get married after such a long time and feel weird about it?

user1494409994 Thu 26-Apr-18 13:23:00

Congratulations. Where's the wedding to be? I'd love to be witness at a stranger's wedding...........
Missing the point of your post completely!