Talk

Advanced search

Threads in this topic are removed 90 days after the thread was started.

I'm sorry, but I really have to rant about grammar!

(151 Posts)
feesh Thu 26-Apr-18 07:21:53

I will probably get flamed/have my own errors pointed out, but here goes.....

I am finding British people's writing increasingly difficult to understand. I am a member of two Facebook support groups for a particular medical condition. One is for Americans; the other is for Brits.

The posts by the Brits are, for the most part, almost illegible, with long, rambling sentences which last for a whole paragraph, punctuated only by commas and 'howevers'. The American posts are nearly always well-written with impeccable grammar.

I also see it elsewhere on Facebook and in real life too (I'm living overseas, so I mix with a lot of different English-speaking nationalities and it's seemingly mainly Brits with this issue). Most irritatingly, I am studying for a Masters at the moment which is examined in part through online discussions. I am in the middle of a discussion and struggling to reply to posts which are barely legible, again with paragraph-long sentences punctuated only with commas and 'howevers'.

I have recently had to assess the websites of various well-known organisations for an assignment, and one of them has a website that is peppered with such dreadful grammar (including in its downloadable notes for schools) that it's embarrassing to read it.

It's driving me nuts and I really needed this rant to get it off my chest, before I go back to my assessed discussion!

I have seen people on here defending bad grammar and accusing people like me of being pedantic. I fully accept that people write in a more informal note form on Facebook and on here, which is fine, but you can still use punctuation to make it easy to read.