Talk

Advanced search

Threads in this topic are removed 90 days after the thread was started.

nursery or child minder?!?

(63 Posts)
marshmy Mon 23-Apr-18 18:15:42

going back to work soon after having DD1(8 months) and i'm really struggling to decide between using a nursery or a childminder, which do you prefer and why? or are they just the same? are there any price differences? is there any difference in the care they provide? i'm completely clueless and so nervous about her going to either of the options she's a very clingy baby and i'd hate to think they'd be annoyed at her or left her to be upset without me there but unfortunately i have no choice but to go back to work

KatnissK Mon 23-Apr-18 18:26:42

I'm back at work soon and we have gone for a childminder since she offers term-time contracts (I'm a teacher), earlier starts (I need to drop off at 7.30am) and is generally more flexible with hours (useful for parents' evenings etc.). So I guess mainly financial reasons. I do also like that DS will get to know her well and not have to deal with new staff etc. although I accept the flipside of this is that when she is ill or if she falls pregnant then we will have to find alternative arrangements.

wendz86 Mon 23-Apr-18 18:45:02

I’ve used both and they both have positives and negatives . Overall I prefer the childminder I’m using currently as my daughters are both really happy with her and she is very flexible which is great for my needs .

wendz86 Mon 23-Apr-18 18:45:44

Also she cost the same for one child all day and one child before and after school as it would have just got nursery for youngest .

Sirzy Mon 23-Apr-18 18:47:12

Visit both locally and decide from there.

Personally for me when I visited it was obvious that nursery was best for our needs but that doesn’t mean it’s the same for everyone

thismeansnothing Mon 23-Apr-18 18:54:58