Talk

Advanced search

Threads in this topic are removed 90 days after the thread was started.

NHS staff - how will you vote to the pay rise offer?

(60 Posts)
KitKat1985 Wed 21-Mar-18 19:17:18

For those unaware, NHS staff on the current agenda-for-change pay scales are going to have the government pay offer proposed today put to them by their unions for a vote by the Summer. If members accept then the pay increase will be back-dated to April 2018.

Full details here:
www.bbc.co.uk/news/health-43481341

There is also a calculator online here to show you what the pay increase will mean for you individually (although it keeps crashing due to high volume of users so you may need to try a few times):

www.nhspay.org/pay-calculator

Personally I'm a band 6 charge nurse and I'll vote to accept them. I don't think we're likely to get a much better offer and I like the fact that the offer will benefit those staff on the lowest rungs of the pay ladder the most (my band 2 HCA's are usually doing at least 1-2 extra shifts a week just to make ends meet right now, and deserve a decent pay rise).

How are you planning to vote?

roziro Wed 21-Mar-18 19:50:36

I agree you should take the offer. In Scotland it looks like we're being offered about half of that despite what the news says. Plus only paybands up to 35k or so will get the full rise, above that salary the rise will be much less, around 1-2%. Bear in mind the rise will be coming out of health boards allocated existing budget- there won't be extra/ new money to pay for it, so even more money will need to be saved to pay for the rise.

FrogCow Wed 21-Mar-18 19:55:03

I will vote to accept them. I’m a one up from the bottom rung band 5 staff nurse.

AgathaMystery Wed 21-Mar-18 19:58:25

It won't really affect me but I'd like to see my staff rewarded. Bearing in mind we are looking at a 14% pay cut in the past decade (in real terms) 6% over 3 yrs is shite. But it's all we are going to get.