Advanced search

Threads in this topic are removed 90 days after the thread was started.

Full time Open Uni

(6 Posts)
Blueisthecolour54 Fri 23-Feb-18 11:54:17

Has anyone studied full time with the OU? What did you study? How many hours did you study a week? Did you have kids, a OH, house to run, a job? How did you find it?

I am looking to sign up full time but I have been out of education for a long time. Just trying to figure out if it will work for me. I have around 50 hours a week to study as I'm not currently working.

JeSaisPas Fri 23-Feb-18 12:41:01

I studied full time while also working full time (no DC). They recommended about 35 hours study a week but I did around 5 on a typical week but put in a lot of work on the monthly TMAs. I didn't go to any tutorials.

I managed to get a first. My degree was in Modern Languages: French & Spanish, but I teach English as a foreign language so probably advanced quicker than those with no language experience. I also put in lots of personal study that I enjoyed and which wasn't related to the books, e.g. summer courses abroad, reading grammar books, listening to music for vocab. In my case it helped that I chose to study something I was interested in so my personal study didn't feel like studying iyswim. I didn't do my degree for professional reasons, just pleasure.

TittyGolightly Fri 23-Feb-18 12:46:15

Re student finance, OU is only ever considered to be part time regardless of hours/credits being studied. Just in case that’s an issue.

PookyHook Fri 23-Feb-18 13:10:48

I'm nearly finished an OU degree in Natural Sciences. I'm studying part time, so 60 credits a year. I don't have a job.

When I started I had two children - a 3 year old and a 1 year old, now I'm in my final year and I have a 9 year old, a 7 year old and a 4 year old. I dropped down to 30 credits a year around the time my youngest was born.