Talk

Advanced search

Threads in this topic are removed 90 days after the thread was started.

This is a weird one.. I think.

(28 Posts)
karolinkachelm Fri 15-Dec-17 20:00:02

I'm new to Mumsnet so please bear with me!

Just looking for some advice on how to deal with this situation.

Basically I have DS from a previous relationship. Me and his Dad get on fine, generally pleasant for DS sake. We've been split 6 years.

Now I'm with new partner of 2 years and we've recently had a baby together. DD is 2 months old.

The thing is, DS Dad has been asking to hold DD when he drops DS home or picks him up. He's told DS that when DD is older she can come to his to play etc. He is still single and hasn't had another relationship since we've split as far as I know.

His parents have also asked if they can look after DD and have told DS that she can come to play there too and have asked 5 or 6 times now to come up and see DD. I have a good relationship with them but only as far as arrangements for DS with them etc.

Now I don't know if I am just being harsh but they are not DDs family so I can't understand it, never mind how uncomfortable it's making DP.

Any advice on how to ask them to back off without being a bitch? Or is this normal? I feel like I'm going mad!

Pru24 Fri 15-Dec-17 20:09:28

Sounds like a hard situation but Personally i think its understandable as its your ds's sister so even thou you do not feel there is a family connection, i can see why they do. This could be rather nice for you all in the long run, the children wont feel any resentment when one child goes or gets to stay every other weekend for example? Surely its nice that they as your ex's family want to embrace the ds's new sister and be open to positive relationships for the sake of ds.

WattdeEll Fri 15-Dec-17 20:10:29