Talk

Advanced search

Threads in this topic are removed 90 days after the thread was started.

Working till 10pm with two children under 5?

(15 Posts)
RoseGold2017 Thu 14-Dec-17 18:03:18

I left my well paid job when I had dd1 (now 4) to be a sahm and have tried to get back into work but it's proving very, very difficult. I have a degree and was thinking of doing a pgce but i have decided against it. (I've always wanted to be a teacher but now I'm not so sure)

The only areas of work that I could possibly get into is call centre type of work. Working till 10 every night. Am I crazy for considering this? The hours would be 1:30 - 10 x 2 days, 4 - 10 x 2 days and one weekend

My children are 4 and 18 months. My partner is not particularly supportive but he would not have a choice but to step up if I went for the job

We are not on benefits and my partners job is not well paid. We are currently getting by. I have savings which I've been using which has helped us out

I'm in my 20s. could I make it work or should I keep looking for another job with more reasonable hours

Furgggggg12 Thu 14-Dec-17 19:25:22

I think it would be really hard.

Can you go for admin type roles instead?

MaisyPops Thu 14-Dec-17 19:26:55

That sounds really rough OP.
Are there no other solutions?
It sounds like you risk burning out quickly.
flowers

debbs77 Thu 14-Dec-17 19:28:36

Could you start your own business doing ironing or similar??

And definitely apply for tax credits!

Tinselistacky Thu 14-Dec-17 19:29:33

Unless you can enjoy sure your dh will step up I wouldn't. I worked in a shop til 11 a few nights a week when exh was out of work, came home, loaded dishwasher, washing machine and put dc x 2 to bed - he used to let them sleep on the sofa full clothed. Bed by 1 and up at 7 was no fun.

AgentProvocateur Thu 14-Dec-17 19:32:33