Talk

Advanced search

Threads in this topic are removed 90 days after the thread was started.

Give me your mansplaining experiences

(221 Posts)
Pagwatch Wed 06-Dec-17 19:38:55

I'm asking after a man told me all about champagne for half an hour after I had given him details of the wine tasting event I've organised

Pagwatch Wed 06-Dec-17 19:40:19

(If someone comes on to explain about mansplaining I get a prize)

QuietNinjaTardis Wed 06-Dec-17 19:44:37

Ha I'd mansplain mansplaining but as a woman I'd fail miserably and then a man would to come along and explain it me.
Haven't got any specific examples but my Fh will start mansplaining and then ask me if he just mansplained. I give him this face fhmmfangry

Pagwatch Wed 06-Dec-17 19:47:52

grin

Albedo Wed 06-Dec-17 19:49:49

I actually had a date explain mansplaining to me once. He got halfway through and realised what he was doing grin

I used to work as a web editor for a non-digital team. So they'd create content, I'd publish it on the website. One of the writers once spent 45 minutes explaining, incorrectly, how I'd publish a webpage. I'd worked there a year at the time.

Interestingly, now I'm in a very male dominated and technical role I never come across mansplaining at work. I've always thought it's because my colleagues don't have anything to prove.

Albedo Wed 06-Dec-17 19:51:29

When I do come across mansplaining now I give them a look and say "given [relevant experience], do you think that explanation is necessary?"

ScreamingValenta Wed 06-Dec-17 19:53:29

My DH does it about music. He always assumes I have never heard of bands formed before the 1980s.

'There was a group called The Incredible String Band ...' - yes, I know, thanks, I've got six of their albums.

'There was a group called the UK Subs ...' - yep, saw them on tour in the 90s, thanks.

I call it 'bandsplaining' when I get fed up of telling him he's mansplaining.

Mercedes519 Wed 06-Dec-17 19:53:38